Zimbabwe International Film Festival Short Film Project 2015

The Short Film Project 2015 (SFP) Film Premiere and Awards ceremony held in October 2015 was of great significance to the Zimbabwe International Film Festival (ZIFF) and the local film sector. This was due to several new features.

The two SFP films, "Freedom" and "The Collector" presented important firsts. "Freedom", written by Nigel Ndlovu and directed by Tawanda Mauchaza, was ZIFFT's first Bulawayo production.

The Collector which was directed by Justice Chapwanya-Mukoena features Edith Masango, Zimbabwe's first visually impaired actress who acted as Jane, the painter. This is the first time a blind actor was featured in a film in Zimbabwe, and possibly Africa. Edith has therefore not only made history by being the first blind actress but has made ZIFFT keep on, "Celebrating a Dynamic Film Culture," as with its motto. This signifies true representation of the Zimbabwean population through this project.

Chipo Tavirai, an 18-year old girl from Zvishavane created the concept for The Collector. It is wonderful to note that the development of film is also gaining traction in the younger generation. The Awards Ceremony was exceptional in the new categories; the 'Hi-Five' Short Film Competition, and the Women Screenwriters Competition sponsored by the University of Bedfordshire. ZIFF2015 also facilitated the inauguration of the Zimbabwe Film and Television Awards (ZFTAs).

Igi Matope, a young and upcoming Mutare based filmmaker, won the First Prize in the 'Hi-Five' Competition with his film "Fatima" and Maston Mbewe got the second prize with "Unfollow". The Women Screenplay Writers Competition winner was Miriam Tanaka Ranganawa, a student at the Midlands State University, with her screenplay "Rage". Angeline Dimingo was the runner-up with her screenplay "Venom of a Bitter Woman".

The Safirio Madzikatire Awards for Outstanding Contribution to Film were awarded to the late Simon "Mutirowafanza" Shumba, Chiwoniso Maraire, Mackey Tickeys, Jackie Cahi, and Saki Mafundikwa. This honors individuals who have made immense contribution to the development of the film sector in Zimbabwe. The SFP Launch and Awards Night was livened by outstanding performances by Tehn Diamond, Hope Masike, Dadza D, Clive Chigubu, and Sthandazile Dube, and Jibilika Dance Trust; with the inimitable Candice Mwakalyelye as Master of Ceremonies. For more information about awards winners visit contact Farai Elton Mjanana at: eltonm@zifft.org.